

RECORD OF DEFERRAL

WESTERN JOINT REGIONAL PLANNING PANEL

DATE OF DEFERRAL	15 June 2017
PANEL MEMBERS	Gordon Kirkby (Chair), Ruth Fagan, Mark Grayson, Peter Hawkins and Bill Bott
APOLOGY	None
DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST	None

Public meeting held at Howlong Golf Resort on Thursday 15 June 2017 opened at 1.15 pm and closed at 6:45 pm

MATTER DEFERRED

Panel Ref – 2016WES019 - LGA – Federation Council, DA-2016/230, Address – 142 Howlong-Goombargana Road, Howlong (AS DESCRIBED IN SCHEDULE 1)

PANEL CONSIDERATION AND DECISION

The Panel considered: the matters listed at item 6, the material listed at item 7 and the material presented at meetings and the matters observed at site inspections listed at item 8 in Schedule 1.

VERBAL SUBMISSIONS:

On behalf of the Council -

Warwick Horsfall

On behalf of the applicant –

- Mathew Kiervan
- Marcus Steele

Support - Nil

Object -

- Stuart Sizer (Howlong community committee (HCC) Chairman
- Peter Odwyer, EDM Group (town planning consultants
- Simon Leake, SESL Australia
- Louise Shields (Howlong community committee (HCC)
- John Skinner (Howlong community committee (HCC)
- David Horton (Howlong community committee (HCC)
- Brian Hardidge (Howlong community committee (HCC)
- Mark Shields (Howlong community committee (HCC)
- Wendy Sizer (Howlong community committee (HCC)
- Mike Gardiner
- Catherine Taylor
- · Frank Robinson on behalf of Judith Colliver
- Frank Robinson
- Frank Robinson on behalf of Lyn Callanan-Thiel

- Wendy Tuff
- Wendy Tuff on behalf of Brooke Starkey
- Toni Hardidge
- Phil Jenkin
- Phil Jenkin on behalf of Vera Jenkin
- Ellen Lions
- Leonard Hickling
- Anne Taylor
- Alice Christine Vogelezang
- Malcolm Goldsmith
- Terry Leggett
- David Smith
- Lisa Smith
- Lisa Smith on behalf of Boys to the Bush (NFP)
- Sally Hebard
- Louise Shields on behalf of Raymond Hebard
- Louise Shields on behalf of Marijke and Damien Ryan
- Cheryl Crook
- Trevor Smith
- Sheila Smith
- Tex Smith
- Judith Barber
- Henry Hopkins
- Glen Hall
- Malcolm Whittle
- Mike Taft
- Margaret Smith
- Colin Smith
- Kevin L. Donovan
- Mark Sheilds on behalf of Peter Opitz
- Julie M. Donovan
- Susan M. Gibbins
- Geraldine Skinner
- Ralph Billing
- Rod Petty
- David Longley
- Mick Woodall
- Ian Rough
- Lisa Smowton
- Kerryne Holmes
- Rachael Wright on behalf of Karie Lowe
- Peter Robertson
- Brad Ewing
- Mathew Smowton
- Lynette Smith
- Wayne Smith

REASONS FOR DEFERRAL.

The Panel agreed to defer the determination of the matter until:

1. the following information is provided by the Applicant:

Air Quality

- Response from the Proponent to the issues raised by Dr Simon Leake in the SESL Australia submission dated March 2017. In particular
- Explanation as to why the receival shed could not be fully enclosed with a negative pressure system.
- Information regarding the potential health risk of air-borne particles being generated by operations at the site.

Traffic

- Justification for the use of 2005 traffic data and 2% per year cumulative growth for the Kywong-Howlong Road, Howlong-Goombargana Road and Drews Lane.
- Confirmation that Kywong-Howlong Road, Howlong-Goombargana Road and Drews Lane have been constructed to an acceptable standard to accommodate the heavy vehicles associated with the development.

Regional Waste

- Does the Regional Waste Management Committee have a waste strategy and is the facility consistent with that strategy?
- Have alternative sites for the facility been considered in the context of any such waste strategy?
- Does the facility include capacity for growth in regional waste?

Site Management

- Information regarding the management and disposal of contaminants extracted during the initial receival process.
- Clarification of proposed construction hours. Recommended Conditions 8 and 99 are inconsistent.
- Confirmation that sufficient water is stored on site for bushfire management purposes.
- Details of site closure and decommissioning should operations cease.

2. The following information is provided by Federation Council:

Strategic Context

• Clarification on strategic plans for the Howlong Township. In particular whether the site of proposed development is within or in the vicinity of land identified for the future growth of Howlong.

PANEL MEMBERS		
Godon Kahly	Roth Fagar	
Gordon Kirkby	Ruth Fagan	
Mark Grayson	Peter Hawkins	
W. B. Bett		